Class 16-12 graduates Guard, Reserve and international pilots

  • Published

VANCE AIR FORCE BASE, Okla. -- Twenty-one lieutenants received their pilot wings during Class 16-12’s graduation ceremony July 29 at Vance Air Force Base.

Twenty will leave here for other bases for additional training. The one remaining will become a first-assignment instructor pilot in the T-6A Texan II.

Two international allied students trained with Class 16-12, and will return to Saudi Arabia to fly fighter aircraft.

The ceremony, held in the base auditorium, was attended by guests, family and friends of Class 16-12. Also attending was Specialized Undergraduate Pilot Training Class 17-12, the newest class of student pilots.

Col. Darrell Judy, the 71st Flying Training Wing commander, welcomed those attending and introduced the graduation speaker, Col. Tim MacGregor, the chief of the Inspection Division, Office of the Inspector General, Headquarters Air Education and Training Command at Joint Base San Antonio-Randolph, Texas.

Following MacGregor, awards for academic excellence, leadership and flying training were presented by Col. Paul Johnson, the 71st Operations Group commander.

Judy presented the distinguished graduate awards. MacGregor presented the Air Education and Training Command commander’s trophies.

The wing commander then presented graduation certificates, a set of pilot wings and a high-five to the new pilots. MacGregor shook each graduate’s hand, passed on words of encouragement, and gave them all high-fives.

Award winners for Class 16-12 were:
Academic Excellence in the T-1A Jayhawk, 1st Lt. Logan Hawke; T-38 Talon, 1st Lt. Alec Gunsch.
Leadership Award in the T-1, 2nd Lt. Amanda Machamer; T-38, 1st Lt. Kyle Mahan.
Flying Training Award in the T-1, 2nd Lt. Steven Roshong; T-38, 1st Lt. Eric Margulies.
Distinguished Graduates in the T-1, 2nd Lts. Steven Roshong and Nicholas Dill; T-38, 1st Lt. Eric Margulies.
The Daedalian AETC Commander’s Trophy in the T-1, 2nd Lt. Steven Roshong; T-38, 1st Lt. Eric Margulies.

Recipients of the Risner River Rats Awards were: T-1, 2nd Lt. Brian Rush; T-38, 1st Lt. Kyle Mahan.

Graduates of Class 16-12 were: 1st Lts. Kyle S. Mahan, Martin J. Davis, Allen O. Ernst II, Joshua G. Feltner, Samuel J. Felts, Tyler J. Fuentes, Alec R. Gunsch, Logan A. Hawke, Eric M. Margulies, Eric W. Roach, 2nd Lts. Mattar F. Al-Jehani, Ibrahim M. Al-Nghimshi, Michael A. Barney, Nicholas S. Dill, Scott V. Holthaus, Amanda G. Machamer, Eric C. Richard, Steven A. Roshong, Brian S. Rush, Christopher M. Ryan Jr., and Andrew D. Umbaugh.

The new pilots received assignments for training in the:
KC-135 Stratotanker, an aerial refueling and transport aircraft;
C-17 Globemaster III, the Air Force’s newest, most flexible cargo aircraft;
C-130 Hercules, a tactical airlift-vehicle capable of operating from undeveloped airfields;
F-15 Eagle, a dual-role fighter designed to perform air-to-air and air-to-ground missions;
MC-130H Combat Talon II, a tactical airlift-vehicle used for infiltration, exfiltration and resupply of special operations forces;
A-10 Thunderbolt II, a close-air-support platform capable of excellent maneuverability at low air speeds and altitudes;
C-21, a twin turbofan-engine aircraft used for cargo and passenger airlift;
T-6A Texan II, a single-engine, two-seat primary trainer;
AC-130W Stinger II, a close air support, air interdiction and armed reconnaissance aircraft;
B-52 Stratofortress, a long-range, heavy bomber capable of flying at high subsonic speeds;
KC-10 Extender, an advanced aerial-refueling and cargo aircraft;
C-5M Super Galaxy, the largest airlifter in the Air Force inventory;
F-22 Raptor, a fighter that combines stealth, supercruise, maneuverability and integrated avionics.